I can’t be the only one who thinks coffee tastes like cigarettes?

It’s an early morning. I drove like a zombie to work so I had another day of forcing myself to drink coffee. Which I swear tastes like cigarettes. Of course I’m basing this off of my “regretful days” where I would pretend to smoke just to impress people.  The only time I ever really tried a cigarette, I threw up instantly. Oh yeah, I was tough! Oh….those regretful days.

Last night was exhausting. I didn’t go to the gym because I was so sore from my Monday work out, but goodness, I sure felt like I worked out. Mainly because I was teaching my son how to ride his bike with training wheels. MENTALLY EXHAUSTING!! I loved riding my bike, my husband loved riding his, surely this love for bike riding should be a natural thing right? WRONG! My son is so focused on the fear of falling off the bike, he can’t do anything but hit the breaks every two seconds. It literally took ten minutes for him to ride past 4 houses on the street. Meanwhile, my two year old is on her tricycle screaming cause she wants to go faster.  The whole experience wouldn’t have been THAT bad, if I didn’t have to listen to him whining the whole time.

“Mommy, I can’t do it! I’m a whimp!”
“I guess I’m not like daddy after al”
“This is too hard!”
“I’m a failure, I can’t do it”
“I don’t want to be a whimp but I can’t help it”

Over and over and over. He was crying while riding and saying that all because we told him to stop hitting the breaks or to pedal faster. Am I a horrible mother because I just wanted to scream or give up? The worst part of it, is he is so stinkin’ smart and learns things so quickly, we can hardly keep up with him. We know he can do it. He just would rather act like a baby for us, than try.  Well, forgive me, but I’m not going to baby my almost 6 year old kid. He finally did it, while sniffling away his pity party. But then all he wanted to do was ride and then we had to listen to the fit he threw in defiance of it being time to go inside.

Parenting is hard. Parenting with patience is unrealistic.

I heard a quote yesterday that really stuck out to me.

“Life is 10% of what happens to you, and the other 90% of how you respond to it.”

I absolutely love that. It’s so true when you really think about it. Let’s say we are in a bad mood all day long, the bad mood rooted somewhere. And it’s usually because of one or maybe two things that happened at the start of the day that went wrong, and BAM, we allowed it to take the toll on the rest of our day. I am going to strive to change that. I want to look back at my life and say my life was 90% of what happened to me and 10% of how I responded it. What if we all did that? Stopped letting life control our emotions and take control of our life! I mean, ultimately God is in control, but He gives us free will take make our own decisions and we should just make life worth it! Woo! That was my inspirational speech of the day. haha.

I browsed some blogs yesterday, and noticed I need a lot of work on my mine. People have fancy pics and things and I gotta start doing something to make mine more attracting!

Met some new neighbors last night. You know what I miss? I miss that when you had neighbors move in, everyone would go introduce themselves and make them a pie or banana nut bread or some big welcome to the neighborhood gift.  But no, nowadays, we have forgotten how to communicate face to face. We act like we are incapable of communicating with others without a screen in our face. We tense up with in person contact because we don’t have time to gather a witty response or add an emoticon to what we say. Instead of magazine articles about “what his body language is telling you” its not “what does his text me?” Come on people. When is the last time we had a good personal heartfelt in person conversation? I think some of the reasons people feel so lonely nowadays is because they feel disconnected from people because the only connection we have is via internet. We strive so much for popularity online or likes, that we forget what relationships are. It kills me to see kids hanging out together now means sitting next to each other with their phones in front of their face. It also saddens me to to think that my kids wont have the experience of being “up all night” talking til you fall asleep on the phone. Will our kids get the nervous feeling of calling their crush for the first time and having to deal with the nerves of “what if their parents pick up the phone first?” Or has everything succumb to text message or instagram likes? Social media has made relationships so much harder. This is why we got rid of facebook and all that. It prevents stupid petty arguments starting from the insecurities of “why didn’t you like my pics?” or “you obviously had time to update your status, but not to call me?” Sigh, lets turn off the technology and have a real conversation and experience life together.

Speaking of life, my ten year high school reunion is this weekend. one of my high school friends asked if I was going. I honestly didn’t know til yesterday, because like my last post, apparently alumni has no way of getting hold of you without a facebook.  My response….”I don’t know how many fake conversations I can have of pretending I care about some person I obviously had no intentions of keeping a relationship with.” I also was an outcast in high school. Don’t get me wrong, I had a lot of friends, but I had this “I don’t give a crap what you think of me” attitude that I’m pretty certain a lot of people wouldn’t care to have a fake conversation with me either. I’ll just save the money and the awkwardness and stay home. My mom is of course disappointed again, because unlike the other three daughters, I again lack school spirit. I can’t tell you enough how many times I had to listen to the lecture of how involved my sisters were in high school and how disappointing I was that I didn’t want to be a part of it. Oh well….til next time…

