One Sentence.

It has come to my attention that I have not been doing a very good job at keeping up with this thing. After reading a few chapters of Craig Groeschel’s newest book Divine Direction, he gave the bright idea to make sure he writes more, he challenged himself to write at least one sentence each day. This encouraged him to finally complete all his writings that he couldn’t accomplish because he allowed life to get in the way. Now he has so many great writings that he can even share with us how to challenge ourselves to finish what we start.

So I’m going to do that. I am going to write one sentence each day, at least one, for a year.

The thing is, I absolutely love writing. When I got engaged, I had fifteen journals starting from 12 years old, up until I got with my husband. However my writings were so deep, so honest, that even I was scared of what was written. I wish I wasn’t so insecure with myself or what my husband might think of me, because I made a brash decision to throw them all away. I’d like to think maybe some homeless person may have stumbled across them and has years of comedy awaiting them. Back then I was so emotionally immature, and allowed all my mistakes in my past to haunt, eat me up in shame, and feed into my insecurity that I was so scared my fiance would read a journal entry my 16 yr old self wrote and leave me. We laugh about that now, especially because my husband loves me in such a way that there is zero insecurity to even try to hide who I was. But that’s besides the point.

The point is–I love to write. I miss writing. Every day I keep telling myself I’m going to work on my blog and actually write something. Unfortunately most of my writings never left my head, a post it, or maybe a note in my iphone. I’ll get a thought of what I’m going to write about and it gets lost somewhere between helping my son with spanish homework while my youngest spills a drink on the floor and my other daughter is crying because she can’t play her game without losing and the dog got out of the house while my husband was carrying in another project to do at home. I get stuck and lost in the chaos that when I get the time to write….I can barely keep my eyes open. That’s just life.

I owe it to myself to write everyday. Even if it is just one sentence. I will do it. I will complete it and I will finish what I started. And if I can do that, then maybe I can finally finish the book I’ve been wanting to write for five years now.

Another great quote from ‘Divine Direction’ was “I will do today what I can do to enable me to do tomorrow what I can’t do today.”

I love it.

What are you going to do today?

