A day closer to my goal.

It’s 11:56 pm but I haven’t fallen asleep yet. So even if this post goes past midnight, I still did not fail my second day of my promise to myself. Remember how yesterday I said this big speech about writing at least one sentence each day? I almost missed the second day. Which quite honestly, most of my goals that I end up missing the mark on fail on the second or third day. That’s sad.

In my book Divine Direction, I’m being asked what story do I think God wants me to tell in five or ten years?

That sure got me thinking. Mainly because it sometimes seems silly to me be in my thirties and still say “when I grow up, I want to….” but the thing is, I still don’t even know. I hate planning my future because if anything life has taught me is that it never ends up what you thought it would. Plus your plans change as times change. What would I love? I would absolutely love to be a stay at home mom, homeschooling not just my kids, but other kids too while teaching Zumba on the side and leading women bible studies and writing my books. But as a regular American mom, we live in a life where it still takes a two person income to survive. I keep thinking maybe when the kids are older, they will be cheaper and it can change. So far that doesn’t seem to be the case. Life gets more expensive.

I remember my first apartment I had with my friends. It was a two bed two bath with w/d connections. It cost 521 a month! Now, they don’t even have one bedroom apartments that cheap! It’s crazy! We spend about 400/month in groceries and my son keeps eating everything in the house. My youngest, I swear is part animal and can sniff out the hiding spot for any snack or fruit and cleans us out in two days. I’m not kidding, we stocked up grape tomatoes and they were gone by the afternoon.

I don’t know what I want my story to be, much less what God wants mine. I know I want to be peaceful. I want to make an impact. I want everyone I know to come to know Christ and have their lives forever changed by Him. I want to be an active part of His mission. I know I want my family to lovingly serve God. I want to love my husband even more than I do today.

He’s incredible. Really. I never met someone who could get on my nerves so easily but make me laugh at the same time. Everyone talks about the seven year itch, which we are coming up on, and I don’t know how. I’m so in love with him, and he loves me so much in return. I seriously check him out everyday. He’s so incredibly good looking. I really lucked out because I’m no Jennifer Aniston but he looks and treats me like I’m the most beautiful person on the planet. It’s really amazing. Thank you God for giving me someone so great and being in our marriage.

So I think that’s what God may want my story to be too. Just peaceful. Not anger, no strife, no bitterness and resentment nor lack of contentment.

Peacefulness.

